October 7, 2022

Spanish cinema, favorite of a San Sebastián with controversies and stars

San Sebastián, Sept 23 (EFE).- A few hours after the winners of the San Sebastián Festival are announced, Spanish cinema emerges as a favorite for a Golden Shell that will put the finishing touches to an edition, number 70 this Saturday , in which controversies, social criticism and the glamor of stars such as Penélope Cruz or Ana de Armas are not lacking.

“La maternal”, a drama about teenage mothers by Pilar Palomero from Zaragoza, and “The consecration of spring”, a film by Fernando Franco that stirs up the debate about the gender right of the disabled, predominate.

“Suro”, feature debut by Basque director Mikel Gurrea, could also come as a surprise, because the story about a couple in crisis that touches on issues such as the relationship between man and nature or racism, has left a very good impression.

The best received from the international is “The Kings of the World”, by Colombian Laura Mora, a moving “road movie” starring street children from Medellín, which speaks about friendship and invites us to reflect on violence and land restitution policies. in Colombia.

He also has many options to get on the list of winners “Sparta”, from the Austrian Ulrich Seidl, who canceled his visit to San Sebastian because of the controversy caused by the publication of a report accusing him of inappropriate treatment of minors. on set.

The film is the raw and uncomfortable portrait of the inner struggle of a man with pedophile tendencies -which are not consumed in the film-, told with sobriety and high doses of tension.

Another controversial absence was that of the protagonist of the Argentine film “Pornomelancolía”, the Mexican “porn influencer” Lalo Santos, who refused to travel to San Sebastián to denounce the circumstances in which the film was made, a ” docufiction” based on his life.

For the second consecutive year, the winners of San Sebastián will receive an acting award that does not discriminate between genders.

If last year the Danish Flora Ofelia and Jessica Chastain got ‘exaequo’, this year a female name will most likely be repeated, as the favorite is the British Florence Pugh for her work in “The Wonder” by Sebastián Lelio, without forgetting the Japanese Masaki Suda, Akira Kurosawa’s muse, for “One Hundred Flowers”.

Pugh hasn’t visited San Sebastián since she was immersed in the filming of the second episode of “Dune”, but the share of the glamor has been amply covered by stars like Penélope Cruz, Olivia Wilde or Ana de Armas, who took to the stage this Friday. capital donostiarra

Cruz went on to present Juan Diego Botto’s eviction film, “En los Margins,” and receive the National Cinematography Award, whose prize money he announced would go to support organizations affected by the evictions, cancer research and relief efforts. of the filmmakers fund.

David Cronenberg received his Donostia Prize – including telematic congratulations from his lead actor Viggo Mortensen – appealing to the subversion of the arts, while the other great honour, French actress Juliette Binoche, justified the value of silence.

In addition to cinema, the event has opened its arms to literature, with the presence of a Nobel laureate such as Kazuo Ishiguro, screenwriter of British director Oliver Hermanus’ film “Living”, which has been screened in the Perlas section.

To the music, with documentaries on Joaquín Sabina (“Feeling it a lot” by Fernando León de Aranoa) and Tequila (“Tequila. Sex, drugs and rock and roll”, by Álvaro Longoria), who attended the screenings in San Sebastián .

Or fashionable, with the presentation of the shooting of the series “Balenciaga”, prepared by the Basque directors Jon Garaño, Aitor Arregi and José Mari Goenaga starring Alberto San Juan and whose premiere is scheduled for 2023 on Disney+.

For a few years now, television has also entered this festival, albeit without taking part in any competition, and these time series such as “Apagón” and “Fácil” by Movistar+ or “La novia gitana” by Atresmedia have been presented.

The award ceremony will start on Saturday at 9 p.m. in Kursaal Palace.

The last word on the list of winners is held by the jury chaired by the Argentine producer Matías Mosteirín -after Glenn Close resigned at the last minute- together with the French casting director Antoinette Boulat, the Danish director Tea Lindeburg, the Spanish writer Rosa Montero, Lesotho filmmaker Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese and Icelander Hlynur Pálmason.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.